Reading for escapism.

Escapism (n): the tendency to seek distraction and relief from unpleasant realities, especially by seeking entertainment or engaging in fantasy.

Hi all.

So I go through waves with my reading tastes, where when things in my day to day are feeling monotonous or are getting a bit tough for me to handle I love to pick up books that I can escape into. While it is important not to become avoidant of our problems in our real lives, I really think books can provide a valuable escape or reprieve from days when things feel a bit much. Since I am currently at a point where I’ve got a lot on my plate, I have been using fiction more than ever to balance out my days and give me that sense of escape. This got me thinking about books which – to me – provide that escapism for me, and I thought I’d recommend some of them to you.

There are a few main genres that I gravitate towards in these instances, and that is typically either fantasy or historical fiction. I think this is because they are so transportive and take me to time or place that I have never experienced. These sorts of books give me a chance to get completely immersed in the world building or the era or culture in question and I find their complexities really useful when I’m craving a bit of distraction.

So here are my picks:

Imperium by Robert Harris

imperium robert harris

This is the first of a trilogy of novels following Marcus Tullius Cicero and his ascent through the ranks of the Roman Empire’s government, all told from the perspective of his slave, Tiro. These books are so compelling and vivid, and for someone who previously had very little interesting in Roman history, I adored it. It covers all bases of Cicero’s life and the romantic, violent and politically intriguing backdrop of Rome. When I first read this I was engrossed so quickly and I felt like I was IN this story. I’ve reviewed this book if you are interested.

 

 

Scythe by Neal Shusterman (Arc of a Scythe #1)

scythe

I read the first two books in this series recently and I became absolutely OBSESSED with them. This takes place in a utopian future, where the world has been eradicated of hunger, disease and all other negative aspects, meaning that nobody dies naturally anymore. As a result, a prestigious group who are known as scythes are tasked with ending lives to maintain population control. The story begins with two characters, Citra and Rowan being chosen as apprentices, who are immersed into the world of the Scythedom. This series is INSANE. It is addictive and the world and the history that Neal has woven is so incredibly intricate and interesting. I loved the characters and the idea of this utopian world is so intriguing because it has some basis in our reality, with the increased use of technology and advances. Plus, the second book has an absolutely jaw dropping ending which will make you throw your book across the room. I can’t wait for the third one. This is so unlike what I’d normally read.

Circe by Madeline Miller

circe by madeline miller

I have mentioned this book a lot on my blog in the last couple months, because it is honestly one of the best books I have read in a long time and one of my favourites of the year. It is a Greek myth retelling, recounting the exile of Circe from the house of Helios (the god of the sun) to an isolated island. On this island she meets a host of characters while basking in her solitude and developing her occult, witchcraft abilities. I have reviewed this on my blog if you are interested! I found it so moreish and I just got sucked into the story so easily. I find Greek Gods and the history so fascinating, but Madeline Miller’s writing is just so beautiful and immersive that I wish the book was hundreds of pages longer. Also, the Song of Achilles (also by Miller) is equally fantastic. I definitely want to reread them both soon.

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

gentleman's guide

Now this book is just sheer fun and enjoyment. It follows Henry “Monty” Montague, who is about to begin his tour of Europe with his best friend (who he is in love with), Percy. Set in the 18th century, this book is filled with unexpected adventures and plot twists and adorable romance. It is not overly historically accurate by any means, but it is just so much fun and I am really looking forward to reading the second book in this series, which follows Monty’s sister, Felicity. It is absolute escapism and I found it so enthralling and humorous from start to finish.

 

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend

Nevermoor

I have mentioned this a lot on my blog recently (apologies, but not really) and that is because it is one of the best books I have read all year. I am going to write a full review, but basically this is a middle grade fantasy book following Morrigan Crow, a ‘cursed child’ who on her 11th birthday is fated to die. However, on the day she is fated to die she is visited by a man named Jupiter North, who whisks her away to compete in trials to become part of Nevermoor’s Wondrous Society. It is utterly magical, so entertaining, whimsical, funny and special. I loved it more than I thought possible and I am so ready for the second book (in what I believe will be a nine part series) to come out at the end of October.


There we have it! Just a few books that I have read in the past which I think are particularly good for if you feel like you need to escape into some fiction. I know we all go through tricky times and deal with them in different ways, and for me reading provides me with a lot of comfort and distraction. If you have any recommendations for some really immersive historical fiction or fantasy that you think are great to escape into OR you have books that you like to go for when times are hard, please let me know! And if you are struggling for any reason, I hope that it passes soon. xxx

badge for end of posts

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment