Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur.

Hi! This is a review of the poetry collection Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur. This was the first book I read this year and I found it simply wonderful.

milk and honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. It is about the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity. It is split into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose, deals with a different pain, heals a different heartache. milk and honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look. (Goodreads).

This is a stunning little poetry collection that I’ve seen snippets of all over Instagram, Twitter and the like for months. Quite rightly so, as these poems are inspiring and beautiful.

What I love about this poetry collection is that this is a very accessible and simplistic, yet effective collection of poems, which evoke emotion and are relatable. I think a lot of readers and a lot of people in general are oftentimes put off poetry because at school they are taught to ruthlessly analyse the choice of every word and explain the various potential meanings of each line. It is very offputting, and makes a lot of people think they don’t enjoy or understand poetry, or that it is something only for the intelligent. This collection does not pretend to be anything else, it doesn’t try to confuse with flowery metaphors and similes and analogies. Instead it is raw and honest and easy to understand, while still being absolutely gorgeous.

I love the themes running through this collection, which is another reason I am glad it is getting a lot of attention . These poems scream feminist values, encourage women that they are strong, depict the way women are often treated, while still celebrating them. It covers so many areas; sexual assault, heartbreak, body image, being objectified and more, while at the same time encouraging women to be strong, to rise up and recover when knocked down and to celebrate other women. Some of these poems really resonated with me, and I feel that any woman, particularly young women should read this collection. It inspired me to try writing myself and I will definitely be coming back to it again.

Another thing I loved about this poetry collection was the illustrations scattered throughout. They again were simple and sketchy, however I loved them and they really added to the poems. It added to the feeling I got when reading each one, that they were raw and honest thoughts, an insight into Rupi Kaur’s mind thrown onto paper.

rupi-kaur

My first book of 2017 was a great one, and I feel optimistic for the reading year ahead. I am also going to keep on the hunt for poetry collections like this one. Everyone should read this.

I hope you are all having a great month, and a brilliant reading month!

 

2 thoughts on “Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur.

Leave a Reply

