Wish I Was Here by Jackie Kay.

Book review time!

In this collection of stories, Jackie Kay explores every aspect of love – the most overwhelming and complicated of human emotions, exposing the moments of tenderness, shock, bravery and remorse that accompany its pursuit, its passions, its passing. (Goodreads)

I picked up this short story collection by Jackie Kay after I attended her and Ali Smith’s event at the Edinburgh Book Festival in August. I read this in one or two sittings.

In all honesty, this book didn’t leave much of an impression on me and I was slightly disappointed. I enjoyed some of the stories more than others, but some I found no desire to read and found myself getting bored of. Her writing was absolutely beautiful, as I had expected, yet I found there was something missing from the stories. This book is a short read, which spurred me on, however I’m not sure I would have read the entirety of it if it had been any bigger.

I did enjoy the variety of forms of love and the variety of subjects of which her stories were based on. Some depicted familial love, misunderstood love, unrequited love, falling out of love, fleeting love…and I felt that this showed just how powerful and vast of a word it is and how many meanings it can hold. I was impressed by the realness of the characters and the relatability of the living situations and the characters. They weren’t overly romanticised, which I really liked.

I don’t have much more to say about this book, other than that I possibly didn’t get along with it as well as others would. I enjoyed it in part, and would still read more by Kay. I’m sorry that this book review wasn’t overly positive, but I am eager to check out more of Jackie Kay’s work to see if I can get along with her other books a bit better.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

