2017 reading and blogging resolutions.

Happy 2017 everyone! I hope you had a wonderful winter season and a lovely new year. I am excited for another year of books and reading and blogging, and with that in mind I have a few resolutions to share. Shall we press on?

1/ Read 24 books

I always like to set myself a reading challenge on my Goodreads account, however my success at my challenges fluctuates year to year. In 2015 I challenged myself to read 50 books and I met this goal with ease. In 2016 I started off with a 50 book goal and when it became evident I wouldn’t reach this I reduced it to 40, then to 30. I read 34 books this year, which is nowhere near as much as the year before, however I have to concede that my time isn’t my own, and that I’m going into the new year as a third year undergraduate with exams to pass, I work entire weekends every week, I volunteer AND I am trying to do everything else I want to do. Therefore, my compromise is that I set myself a reading challenge but a more tangible goal. 24 books means 2 books a month, which I can and will do.

2/ Read more non fiction

I have read embarrassingly few non fiction books this year, despite having several on my radar and on my to read list. I never was a lover of non fiction when I was younger, however now I adore essay collections, factual non fiction books, autobiographies and more. I would love to strike a balance this year where I read one fiction book a month and then (potentially) one non fiction book a month. However, instead of vowing that this is what I’m going to do, I instead just want to set myself a goal of reading more non fiction, whenever and whatever I pick! I have a few non fiction reads in mind which I cannot wait to get to.

3/ Read a fantasy novel

I do not tend to read fantasy, but not because I dislike the genre. I think I am oftentimes put off by fantasy novels as they are rarely stand alone and are usually part of a series, which I am terrible to comitting to. Also, fantasy novels tend to be larger in page count to make room for world building. While I don’t know which one to pick yet, I’d love to read at least one fantasy epic this year.

4/ Read bigger books

I get so intimidated by big books, and more often than not I will put off reading a chunky book and pick something I know that I can finish quicker. The majority of books that I read are around 350-400 pages in length, which I appreciate. However, after battling through the 700 pages (give or take) of East of Eden by John Steinbeck this year and realising what rewards can be gained from trucking through a bigger book, I have vowed to push myself to pick up some bigger items on my shelves. Therefore I am setting myself a challenge of reading at least 2 (of my 24 goal) books over 500 pages this year.

5/ Join a book club

This one may be a bit harder to fit in or accomodate, but I would love to be part of a book club or read a book alongside others. I know that there is a book club within my university, which I am going to look into going to after the new year. If not, I am going to try and find a book club I like the sound of online, or potentially form one! I love the idea of reading a book together and discussing predictions and plot twists and characters etc.

6/ Publish a post a week

I have slacked on my blog the last two or so months, for a variety of personal reasons which are not important to this post. However in 2017 I would love to have at least one blog post ready to publish each week, whether book related or otherwise. This blog has been so much fun and I want it to remain a fun thing to do, and so I don’t intend on pushing myself too hard by establishing schedules and criteria, instead one post a week sounds doable. And if I fail to write one post a week, as long as I have 52 posts by the end of the year I will be happy.

7/ Don’t limit myself to books

I published a few blog posts this year that weren’t as much to do with books, such as my post about the Syrian refugee crisis, Kim Kardashian and feminism and most recently my 2016 post. I love writing my thoughts on current events or on anything that catches my interest or passion, and so I would love to use this blog as a platform to do that as well as my book posts. I don’t know how successful said posts are, however I enjoy voicing my thoughts and views and will continue to do so, even if nobody reads them!

8/ Give my blog a make over

I would love to do my own illustrations for my blog and move things around and spice things up with a new layout. I am a creative person and would love to access that creativity through designing my own blog.

9/ Interact with other bloggers more

I have to admit that I have slacked in this regard in the last two months, but I desperately want to start to get to know more of the book bloggers in this community. I want to read the books you recommend and maybe even make some friends along the way.

10/ Improve my writing

I think I write relatively well, however when I read back on my posts I see small, clumsy errors that could be neatened up. I love using my blog to fulfill my love of writing, however I would love to see my skill improve over the course of the year.

happy-new-year-blog

 

There you have it, folks! I hope you enjoyed this blog post, and I wish everyone the happiest of new years and all the best for 2017!

One thought on “2017 reading and blogging resolutions.

Leave a Reply

