Best books of 2016.

2016 was an up and down year. On a macro level it was a pretty awful year, on a micro level (Amy level) it was a year of fun experiences, independence, great people and most importantly…great books. Here are a few of my favourites of the 34 I finished in 2016 listed in the order I read them. Enjoy!

A Whole Life by Robert Seethaler

This is a stunning little novel about a man who lives his entire life in the Austrian Alps. He leaves the area but once, to fight in the second world war. It is gorgeously written, heartbreaking, still and beautifully descriptive. A must read, and a short one, coming in at 160 pages.

Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig

This is one of my favourite books of all time and I am so lucky to have found and read this. I found it relatable, honest, moving and just so oddly comforting. This book is so important and something that I urge anyone who suffers with mental illness or who struggles to understand those who do to pick this up. Funny at points, beautiful in all the right ways. I love it. See my review here.

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

I had never visited Middle Earth until I read this book, and I am so glad I finally got to it. This book was fantastical, with such a thoroughly descriptive world, brilliant characters, and was an adventure start to finish. See my review here.

The Cicero Trilogy by Robert Harris

This trilogy follows the Roman senator Cicero and his endeavours to gain power in the Roman republic. These books are so interesting, so fast paced, so full of drama and are great if you are a history buff. The voice of these books, Cicero’s slave Tiro is a character you will grow to feel affection for and the best perspective to read about Cicero’s life from. See my review of the first book, Imperium, here.

East of Eden by John Steinbeck

This may be one of the most beautiful book I have ever read (which I am yet to review, however will be reviewing it as soon as possible). This book is huge, but so worth reading. John Steinbeck’s writing is unbeleivable and moves me every time. The story, the characters, the levels of personality, the fight between good and evil and the reference to a biblical story we all know made this book a stunning, literary masterpiece.

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

This is a heartbreaking but uplifting memoir of a neurosurgeon who finds out he is dying of cancer as he is about to complete his residency. This book sounds depressing, but it exerts life and brilliance, it is inspiring and wholesome and is absolutely unbelievable. It conveys the difference between being the doctor and being desensitised, to being the patient  from a person who has seen both sides. It discusses death, spirituality, coming to terms with mortality and much more. So beautiful and inspiring. Please read it! See my review here.

happy-new-year-blog

This will probably be my last blog post of 2016, and so I’d like to take this chance to thank anyone who has read, liked, or followed my blog since I created it in April. I have been blogging for 8 months now and I’ve enjoyed every second. I love talking about books and sharing my love of books with you guys and I can’t wait for another year of blogging.

 

Leave a Reply

