What I read in October.

Hi! Me again.

So it’s the last day of October already. I know everybody says it, but where on earth has the year gone? Where has autumn gone? October was an up and down month for me, with some high and low points, which combined have left my brain well and truly fried.

It is at times like these when I need books the very most. For a number of reasons, I hadn’t actually read any books to completion since the end of August, which is an insane and worrying length of time for me. When October started and things got busier and more intensive in several aspects of my life, books were the familiar friend that kept me level and sane. I managed to finish three books this month, and while I have reviewed one of the three already, I have yet to find time to review the other two. So, until I can I figured I would post a little update instead.

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

I started this book on a 3 hour long bus journey, after I acted tour guide for my friend Anabelle in Edinburgh for the day. I was getting over a chest infection/ head cold and wanted something comforting that I could get stuck in to. This book did not disappoint.

For those of you who have not heard of this book (review is linked), it is a memoir of sorts, detailing a neurosurgeon coming to terms with his diagnosis of terminal cancer, the relation between patient and doctor, and doctor and patient. It is harrowing, beautiful, metaphysical, poignant, eloquent, heartwrenching, uplifting and oozes life. A must read.

East of Eden by John Steinbeck

Now, this book is a chunky one, which I actually started in August but only got around to finishing it this month. In a way I am proud that I managed to conquer such a big book, however I am sad the experience is over. This book is tremendous; I find it hard to describe how much I loved it. It has landed itself in a new and updated list of my favourite books of all time, and Steinbeck has cemented his place in my list of favourite authors. I am going to save my thoughts for a review, however I haven’t stopped thinking about it since I finished it. Stunning.

Autumn by Ali Smith

I was so excited for this book to be released, and I went and bought it for myself as soon as I possibly could, and read it quickly thereafter. I really enjoyed this book. I was lucky enough to get to hear Ali Smith reading some chapters from this book at the Edinburgh Book Festival in August, making the anticipation for its release even greater. I was not disappointed. Again, I am saving my thoughts for my review, but overall I thoroughly enjoyed this. While not being my favourite Smith novel, it was still excellent, interpretive, different and comforting to read.

 

What did you guys read in October? Anything you would recommend?

Pip pip!

Leave a Reply

