Acrostic book recommendations.

Hello! How are you? I’m good…yeah, I’m okay thanks.

ANYWAY…

I thought it would be fun to do a book recommendation with a twist today. I am going to give 6 book recommendations, each corresponding with a letter from the word autumn (book title, author name etc.). I don’t know why I felt like doing this, I just thought it may be something more challenging and different.

I’ll give it a go, shall I?

A: And Still I Rise by Maya Angelou

One of Maya’s gorgeous poetry collections. 54 pages of powerful poems, which will leave you feeling inspired, and give you a new strength and motivation you didn’t know you could muster.

U: The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce

I have only read about a chapter of this book, but would like to revisit (and hopefully finish) this story, as it sounds exactly like something I’d enjoy. It is a parallel story to another book, about Harold Fry, an elderly man who goes on a journey to see someone he hasn’t heard from in over 20 years.

T: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Do I need to explain this one?

U: Love Letters of Great Men by Ursula Doyle

Compiling love letters of men throughout history, such as Beethoven, Oscar Wilde and Charles Darwin, Ursula Doyle balances background story and historical information with snippets of the thoughts of some of the most prolific and important figures in both the literary canon and other areas. A great book to dip in and out of.

M: We Don’t Know What We’re Doing by Thomas Morris

For fans of contemporary, for fans of short stories, for fans of non cliché, realistic portrayals of characters, and for those who aren’t afraid of books referencing sex.

N: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

I met Patrick Ness when I was about 13 at the Edinburgh Book Festival, and I got my copy of this book signed, then subsequently whizzed through it. For fans of YA fiction, or of dystopian/ verging on apocalyptic fiction, this is a really interesting and mysterious concept for a book. I don’t want to spoil the plot, however I would really recommend this, as it is very intelligent and smartly done.

There we go! 6 recommendations. I hope you guys enjoyed this. Toodle pip!

 

3 thoughts on “Acrostic book recommendations.

Leave a Reply

