My favourite books.

The time has come for me to share a few of my favourite books. This is not a final list as that would be VERY difficult to do, and the list is ever changing. However, here are a few of my favourite books (or series of books) that won’t be budging any time soon.

1/ To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

 

I first read this in 2014 during a rough patch in my personal life and it uplifted me and made me so happy. So innocent in the narration and such a heartwarming but equally heartbreaking story. This is one of the few American classics I actually enjoyed, and I read and reread this regularly. It is very accessible in terms of classics as well, and I’d recommend it to anyone who wants to start on that route.

 

 

 

2/ Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

I became sorely addicted to this book from the offset, as it was entirely not what I was expecting. Not only was it not solely a romance as I had previously thought, as it tells a great deal of Jane Eyre’s childhood as well as her time at Thornfield with Mr Rochester, but it is extremely feminist. I enjoy this aspect as given the time period that it is from and the fact that the Brontë sisters wrote under male pseudonyms -presumably in a bid to get published without interference- this book would probably not have fit the traditional mould for a classic. I love the writing and the story itself,  and prefer this to some of the 19th century British classics I have read previously.

 

3/ Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe by Fannie Flagg

This book was such a quick read for me, and one that I truly adored! I love books that are set in the southern states of America, specifically during the early to mid 20th century. This book follows multiple characters and boasts a diverse cast of individuals. While it touches at points on race, there are also mentionings of sexuality. It is a warm book, that made me smile relentlessly. It ranges over a few decades and follows several plot points which I enjoyed. It gave me a To Kill a Mockingbird feel, which is probably in part why I loved it so much. I know that this is also a very popular movie, but I am yet to watch it!

 

 

4/ The Harry Potter series by JK Rowling

Um…I mean there is hardly any explanation necessary is there? DUH! I recently reviewed Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. If you would like to read that review, click here!

 

 

 

 

 

5/ Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig

This is one of the best books I have read this year, and one that in all honesty has changed my perspective on myself and my experiences. I found this book absolutely beautiful and so eloquent. The writing has so much emotion in it and is such an honest look at mental illness. If you would like to read my review of this book, it is available here. 

 

 

 

 

6/ The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett


This is a childhood favourite of mine, that I can vividly remember reading. While Pratchett was quite a challenging author for me to read at the age I did (I believe I was 9), I loved this book. So imaginative, so fantastical yet in many ways with realistic and relateable characters. This book spurred on a love for satirical wit and humour, and the portrayal of the Wee Free Men, aka stereotypical Scottish pixies is second to none. So funny. So excellent!

 

 

 

7/ Anything by Maya Angelou

If you would like some context as to why I love Maya Angelou and what I have read by her, see my author spotlight and my review of Letter to my Daughter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

8/ The Cicero Trilogy by Robert Harris

Dictator (Cicero Trilogy)

Starting with Imperium and ending with Dictator, this series is jam packed start to finish with drama, action and intrigue. I loved this series, it being the most recent addition to this list. That being said, there is so much information in these books and so many references totally lost on me that it will definitely require a reread at some point soon. For my review on the first book, Imperium, click here!

 

 

 

 

I hope you guys enjoyed this post. This week there will be a book review on Sunday and hopefully some more content next week after my day at the Edinburgh book festival.

Pip pip!

Leave a comment