The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

Hello all. Since I haven’t finished a new book this week as I’ve been rather busy, I decided to review one that I read pre blogging. I read this book at the beginning of the year, and I still remember my thoughts, so here we go!

A canny young woman is struggling to survive by perpetrating various levels of mostly harmless fraud. On a rainy April morning, she is reading auras at Spiritual Palms when Susan Burke walks in. A keen observer of human behavior, our unnamed narrator immediately diagnoses beautiful, rich Susan as an unhappy woman eager to give her lovely life a drama injection. However, when the “psychic” visits the eerie Victorian home that has been the source of Susan’s terror and grief, she realizes she may not have to pretend to believe in ghosts anymore. Miles, Susan’s teenage stepson, doesn’t help matters with his disturbing manner and grisly imagination. The three are soon locked in a chilling battle to discover where the evil truly lurks and what, if anything, can be done to escape it.

Now I’ll be honest with you, I didn’t really enjoy this book. I actually found it to be quite a flop. It was very short at 64 pages and so I pushed through to finish it, however I felt that Gillian Flynn could have done so much more with this book.

I read Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn in 2015 and I did enjoy it, and I felt that her ability to create a feeling of suspense made it a fantastic and fast paced read, however I felt that it’s length gave it the time it needed to develop and entertain. However, 64 pages was just not enough pages to give her story the necessary appeal. I felt that it was slow at first, taking too much time describing certain aspects, and then at the end when things were being revealed and there were plot twists it became a rushed mess. It is so short that I feel it is hard to categorise the book into start, middle and end; however the middle part which describes the house and the relationship the main character starts to develop with Susan is the most interesting.

I previously mentioned the rushed ending, and quite frankly this was my least favourite part of the book. It seemed that Flynn was simply throwing every plot twist she could think of into the last five pages. One of the greatest appeals of this kind of thriller, suspense book is normally the ability to predict (somewhat) the ending, or to make guesses. However, Flynn threw so much into the ending that it all just became one massive blur and there was no possible way anyone could predict what would happen.

Overall, I would definitely read Gillian Flynn again, as her books are easy to read and can be very captivating. However, I feel this novella could have been far more fleshed out and enriched if it was even 150 pages instead of a mere 64. Disappointing!

Sorry this wasn’t my normal, more positive review. I tend to select my books pretty well and normally abandon books that I’m not enjoying before completion, and so I rarely have books I didn’t really like to review.

Pip pip!

Leave a Reply

