5 Authors I want to read more of.

Hello, it’s me. I was wondering if after all these years…you’d maybe like to know what authors are on my must read list? You do? Excellent, here’s a list of 5 authors I have read before but that I want to further investigate.  Anyway, here we go!

John Wyndham:

I have read The Day of the Triffids, which is a somewhat apocalyptic novel about a society which goes blind. I loved this book, from the writing style, to the captivating plot. As far as I know, Wyndham’s work are considered to be science fiction or ‘logical fantasy’. His writing style captures vintage Britain, and his books are quintessentially British; more specifically, English. They were thought to redefine science fiction during the 40s and 50s and I want to read some more of his work. I have my eye on The Chrysalids and Chocky in particular.

John Steinbeck:

Words can’t quite describe how much I love John Steinbeck’s work. I have previously read Of Mice and Men and The Pearl, and what captures me most about Steinbeck’s work are his beautiful descriptions and metaphors and his characters. As somebody who has a very love and hate relationship with American classics (I hate to say it but I loathe The Great Gatsby and The Catcher in the Rye), Steinbeck crafts a beautiful story that I just fall in love with after the first page. I am most excited to read East of Eden, and have already started it. I think I would adore anything he writes, and I can’t wait to get to more of his work, as I have a feeling he could hold a place in my list of favourite authors.

Matt Haig:

I read Reasons to Stay Alive this year, knowing nothing of Matt Haig or his work. This book absolutely blew me away and touched my heart, earning a place as one of my favourite books of all time. However, it was only after reading this book and following Haig on twitter (which is an absolute treat if you’re interested @matthaig1) that I realised he has several works of fiction out there! I currently own The Humans and I want to read this first, as it seems to have an interesting premise and narrator, and it mentions dogs. Who doesn’t love dogs?

Ali Smith:

Ali Smith could very well be a new favourite for me, as when I read How to Be Both and I adored it. Ali Smith writes a lot of literary fiction and has a very interpretive and calming writing style. She doesn’t tend to use speech marks to define when a character is speaking, and a lot of the time there are different ways for readers to interpret her work. I have only read one book of hers, however I own The Accidental and am eager to read some more of her stuff.

Haruki Murakami:

Murakami is a Japanese, contemporary author who I have recently had the pleasure of reading. I know virtually nothing about Murakami, other than that I read Sputnik Sweetheart and I thoroughly enjoyed it (review on my blog if you’re interested). I’ve heard a lot about his work on Booktube and through blogs and I have heard that Norwegian Wood is a fantastic one to start with. Hence, it is my next must have!


 

Leave a Reply

