My favourite books of 2016 (part 1).

Hello guys and dolls!

It’s July, meaning we have successfully survived six months of 2016, and are into the second half. Let’s give ourselves a pat on the back for making it through. Congratulations!

2016 has had some ups and downs for me (more on that another time), still, for the most part it has been the best year I’ve had in a long time. While there have been hard moments, I have had some amazing experiences, met some amazing people and achieved some great things.

As I’ve said before, I live my life in between the pages of the books I’m reading at any point in my life. I am always reading, and this is generally one of the best things in my life. I have turned to books this year for guidance, reassurance and for pleasure. So far this year I have read 21 books. This is not as high of a number as I would have liked, however I have the entire summer to up that number. When considering my favourite books of the year so far out of those 21 books,  4 come to mind. If I have written book reviews on the books mentioned, I will have them linked just in case you’d like to know more! Let’s crack on.

1.Imperium by Robert Harris

I started Imperium in April of this year, on the recommendation of somebody rather important to me. I trusted his judgement and was not disappointed. I later went on to read the sequels to this book; Lustrum and Dictator. I absolutely adored this series and found it fascinating, action packed, capitivating, inspiring, educational and just a treat from start to finish. For those of you who don’t know, Imperium, Lustrum and Dictator make up a trilogy which provides a fictionalised account of the Ancient Roman senator, Cicero. While the events in this book are true, the story has been fictionalised and embellished and is a well written and accessible access to Ancient history for those who maybe can’t handle non fiction. While it is obviously not entirely accurate, it has ignited a fascination in Ancient Rome for me, and I would recommend it to anybody who wants a series with something different.

2. Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig

This book, in a nutshell is the book that has helped me through the harder points of this year. This is an endearing and honest depiction of mental health and provides a great discussion and insight into stigmas surrounding the subject. I love this book, and I absolutely love Matt Haig’s writing style. He writes beautifully and in such a way that evokes so much emotion from me. Excellent.

3. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

My first foray into fantasy in a long, long time and what an experience it was! I was quite nervous to read such a cult classic, knowing so many people who hold this book in such high regard. I now understand why. This is a magical, funny, exciting book taking place in such a vividly crafted universe that I loved to imagine. I am definitely eager to read The Lord of the Rings after having read The Hobbit, and I can’t believe it took me so long to read this!

4. Sputnik Sweetheart by Haruki Murakami

I read this from the comfort of a sun lounger in sunny Tenerife in April and thoroughly enjoyed it. Despite not being 100% happy with the ending, I found the prose absolutely beautiful and the story itself quite still, yet very captivating. I got sucked into the story and enjoyed the very three dimensional nature of the characters. I thought it was a great introduction to Murakami for me, and I am very eager to read more from him. I felt the book translated really well into English, almost seamlessly. It was a great contemporary piece and I look forward to what I’ll read next.

There you have it; my top 4 books of the year so far. I am excited to carry on through 2016 and see what other gems I end up finding. If the second half of the year is as good as the first was for books then I am in for a great ride.

Pip pip!

Leave a Reply

