The Social Media Book Tag.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Greetings people! I thought I’d do a book tag today, and I scrolled through countless tags to find one I fancied doing and stumbled across this one. I haven’t been tagged, but when has that ever stopped me? Let’s crack on!

Twitter: Your favourite short book.

I am terrible at selecting favourites, however Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck came to mind for this category. This book is 112 pages (according to Goodreads), and I read it in one sitting. The reason this is my favourite is because John Steinbeck is a fantastic author and has a beautiful writing style which touches me every time. This is the first Steinbeck I ever read and has started somewhat of an obsession. I want to (hopefully) get to all of his work at some point. This is a lovely, heartbreaking, beautifully emotive and poignant classic and is a great entryway into American classic literature.

Facebook: A book everybody pressured you into reading.

I don’t tend to let myself be pressured into reading something that I didn’t already have intentions to read, as my enjoyment of a book is automatically lessened if I wasn’t particularly fussed about reading it. However, I remember reading the first book in The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins because I knew that all my friends had loved it and that everyone was really excited to see the movie. I had heard so much about it and so I decided to pick it up. However, while it was an okay read, I can’t say I enjoyed it or felt it lived up to the hype I had heard surrounding it.

Tumblr: A book you read before it was cool.

Okay, I am going to sound like a judgemental hipster here, but I read (and loved) a lot of young adult fiction ages before it came to be popular. I remember watching John and Hank Green on their YouTube channel for years, and I have read all of John Green’s books years before The Fault in Our Stars had come out. However, when it became popular and they decided to make a movie, I had moved on in my reading and it was no longer one of my die hard favourite books, as my tastes had changed. I still recognised that despite my change in taste, it was going to have an amazing effect on so many people, so I was happy that it had become cool (although, possibly thinking “I TOLD YOU SO”).

Myspace: A book you don’t remember whether you liked  it or not.

I scrolled through my Goodreads to figure this answer out, and I came across Rat Catcher by Andy Diggle…which is a graphic novel I read in 2014. I have no recollection as to whether this was any good or not, and if I remember rightly, I didn’t rate it because I couldn’t make up my mind. It’s a crime/thriller graphic novel, and that’s all I know.

Instagram: A book that was so beautiful you had to Instagram it.

There are countless books that I love and that were aesthetically beautiful. To answer this question I looked through my own Instagram account (amylfgregor) to find my answer. My answer would have to be To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. This is my favourite book of all time, but I also just love the edition I own. It’s a paperback, so after being reread so many times it is a bit scuffed up, but I just think the cover is beautiful and it captures the essence of the book.


YouTube: A book you wish would be turned into a movie.

Can I pick a trilogy? I would love to see Robert Harris’ fictionalised trilogy, retelling of the orator Cicero’s political career as a movie. Ancient Rome was a place full of drama, excitement, corruption, bravado, intelligence, philosophy and more. I would love if these could be made into even a TV series or something, so they could get the detail they deserve. It’s so good!

Goodreads: A book you recommend to everyone.

Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig. Every time. I wrote a book review of this book which is up on the blog if you’re interested. This is an endearing book about mental health, intermingled with Haig’s personal experience. It is enriching and fantastic. I’d recommend it to everybody, regardless of whether you have had experience with mental health issues or not.

Skype: A book with characters you wish you could talk to instead of just reading about.

I’m afraid I’m going to repeat myself here, but there are a few. Firstly, To Kill a Mockingbird…because Atticus Finch is my favourite character in the whole of literature. Secondly, Cicero. Thirdly, HARRY POTTER. I mean, duh?!

 

I hope you guys enjoyed this tag. Pip pip!

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Social Media Book Tag.

Leave a Reply

