Revisiting the books of my childhood.

You know those books, every reader has them…the ones that made you a reader? The books which made you crave more and made your imagination run wild? The ones that you can still remember, and can still remember how they made you feel.

I think these memories and these books are unbelievably important. Nearly every aspect of who you are is influenced by past experience, and I am a strong believer that books have made me the person that I am today. And quite honestly, thank the stars for that.

I was always exposed to books as a child. My parents would often read fairy tales to me before bed, and I would always be begging for just one more story before they turned off the light. From a young age I was captured by the power of words and the way they made my mind race and the imagination course through my veins in a powerful rush.

I believe that if a children’s book can’t be enjoyed by adults and children alike…it isn’t a good book. Children’s books have the power to shape morals, likes, dislikes, reasoning, belief and what kind of person an individual becomes. This is both a responsibility and a privilege. to have and something very special to behold.

It is for these reasons I have decided to revisit the books of my childhood and see if they still have the appeal they did when I was younger, and I want to see if I can see some of my current self in the pages and see what has brought me to be the person I am today.

So here I go! Jacqueline Wilson, Terry Pratchett, Roald Dahl, Enid Blyton…I’m coming for you!

 

Leave a Reply

