The Coffee Book Tag.

Hello friends!

So I was scrolling through my YouTube feed the other day and I came across The Coffee Book Tag. I watched a couple of these videos and thought it was really fun. And, as a coffee, tea and as generally a lover of hot drinks, I figured this book tag would be pretty fun to try! Why not go and pour a coffee and we can get started. I’ll wait for you to get back……

Okay, ready? Excellent. Let’s go!

Black Coffee: Name a series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

Now, generally speaking I do not read a lot of series. This is in part because I am flaky and tend to never finish them. However, when I do start a series, I normally have a pretty good idea of whether I’m going to enjoy it or not.

My answer for this question is going to be similar to a lot of people that I have seen doing this tag: A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin. Now, I have tried to read Game of Thrones, I really have. But each time I only managed to get less than 200 pages in. It is just not my kind of book. I love fantasy on the odd occasion, but I do not like following so may characters, and I also find the length of these off putting. I’m afraid Martin and I just don’t work together, sadly. I will not be trying to force myself to read these books again.

Peppermint Mocha: Name a book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year.

Hmm, I don’t tend to read seasonally and so I do not really pay attention to trends when it comes to what people are reading and when. However, talking from a personal level, I absolutely LOVE reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone during winter and more specifically around Christmas.

There is something so comforting about a reread, in particular the first Harry Potter. It is so familiar and a cosy up read. As well as this, Harry’s first Christmas at Hogwarts is a magical moment in the book and I love picking this up around Christmas to remind myself of it.

Hot Chocolate: What is your favourite children’s book?

This is such a hard question to answer! There are so many books that I’d consider favourites of my childhood, and that shaped me to be as I am now.

The Famous Five books by Enid Blyton are possibly the books I remember most vividly from my childhood. In fact, anything by her stuck in my mind. I loved Jacqueline Wilson, my favourite of hers being The Lottie Project. Road Dahl books fed my imagination and kept it awake. But if I had to pick my absolute favourites, it would be the first few books of the Harry Potter series, or  The Wee Free Men by Terry Pratchett.

Double shot of espresso: Name a book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

Without a doubt, this would be Lustrum and Imperium by Robert Harris. These books are from Robert Harris’ series chronicling the life of Marcus Tullius Cicero. It is a deeply explained, intricate recount of politics in Ancient Rome and the corruption, the conflicts and dramas. I love these books and am currently reading the third, Dictator, with a friend of mine. In particular the second book, Lustrum, had me hooked from the first page and I found myself not being satisfied with putting the book down, always saying to myself “just one more page”.

Starbucks: Name a book you see everywhere.

At the moment, this would be Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. As I understand it, this is a romantic novel which is quite heart-breaking. It has also just been made into a movie. I don’t really have much interest in reading this book, as I do not opt for romance often and so I probably won’t be reading this one. However, considering the hype it is getting at the moment, it must be pretty good, right?

That Hipster Coffee Shop: Give a book by an indie author a shout out.

I suppose I’m kind of cheating here…because this book isn’t necessarily ‘Indie’ as it was nominated for the Manbooker Prize last year, but The Fishermen by Chigozie Obioma is a book I rarely hear any talk of and this should change.

This book is fantastic. It deals with some unpleasant themes but is beautifully written, with some more interpretive aspects regarding myths and the future and prophecies. It is a slow burner but I really loved it. I loved it for the writing almost more than for the plot, but all in all this was just a great read.

Oops! I accidentally got decaf: Name a book you were expecting more from.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn comes to mind for this. I enjoyed this book, but found the ending very disappointing, and did not find it THAT captivating throughout. When I picked up the book I was expecting to be sorely addicted and to be sucked in, based on what I’d heard and seen of this book, however I found myself adopting a very ‘take it or leave it’ attitude towards this story.

The Perfect Blend: Name a book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying.

Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café by Fannie Flagg, AKA one of my favourite books of last year and probably of all time, encapsulates bitterness, sweetness and satisfaction for me. I found myself crying at points, frustrated at other points, squealing with happiness, and closing the book thinking “wow, what a great ride”. This book really is a great read, I’d recommend it to everyone. It brings together the past and present, ranging from 1920s, racist Alabama to the 1980s. There are a plethora of characters and it is generally just a pleasure to read.

Green Tea: Name a book or series that is quietly beautiful.

Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig. There can be no other answer to this question. This is an open discussion, memoir, self help book that doesn’t really fit into one category. Haig discusses depression and anxiety in a poignant and heartfelt and real way, and this book will always be my saving grace which I will look to when I need a bit of help. If you are interested in this book, I reviewed this on my blog a couple of weeks ago.

Chai Tea: Name a book or series that makes you dream of far off places.

I’ve chosen How to be Both by Ali Smith. I read this book last year and absolutely fell in love with it. This book starts with a different perspective or character dependent on which copy you buy. The book is split into two halves, one following a young girl called George in the current day, the other following an Italian Renaissance artist. This book made me yearn for the ability to time travel, because Renaissance Italy and the artist community sounded fascinating and compelling to me, and I found my mind wandering picturing the world at that time.

Earl Grey: Name your favourite classic.

This is like asking a mother to pick her favourite child. I can’t……..

Okay I’ll try!

In terms of American classics, To Kill a Mockingbird is one of the most fantastic books I have ever read, and while a cliché answer, it is well loved for a reason. I have read and reread this book many a time, and I love even more with each read.

I have read a few British classics, and I’d have to say that my favourite is Jane Eyre. I love the story, the feminist messages and the strong will of Jane as a protagonist. I have not reread this book but it is about time that I picked it up and fell in love all over again.

Oh, you’ve finished your coffee? How funny, we have also just finished the tag too! I hope you guys enjoyed this book tag, I will hopefully be doing some more of them soon. I am not going to tag anyone specifically, but for those who want to do it…consider yourself tagged by yours truly!

How do you guys take your coffee? Or are you more of a tea person? Tell me, I wanna know!

Until next time everybody.

Leave a Reply

