Book Babbles.

 

Hello chums!

As this post goes live, I will be on a train, coffee in hand, nose in a book…heading to Edinburgh until Thursday, for my first ever trip alone. I’m taking time for myself to do what I want to do and I can’t wait to have a chilled out few days alone. I will most likely write a blog post about this experience once I’m back, as travelling alone for the first time, regardless of how far afield is a pretty daunting but enlightening experience. Or so I’m hoping, anyway.

In the meantime, I thought you guys might be interested in what I’m reading and am planning to read this week!

I finished The Hobbit by J R. R. Tolkien on Thursday, and I loved it! I wrote a review which went up yesterday, which I hope you guys have read and enjoyed as much as I enjoyed writing it. This has inspired me to take The Fellowship of the Ring, the first book in the Lord of the Rings Trilogy, with me on my trip to Edinburgh. I’m not sure if I’ll finish it or not, as there are also other books on my radar, but we shall see.

I also read Esio Trot by Roald Dahl this past week. I bought my mum a set of Roald Dahl’s 15 most popular books, and I chose to take a sneaky trip down memory lane and read some of his books for myself. This book has about 60 pages of writing, intermingled with pictures, and in a giant font, so it took me all of 20 minutes to read. However, I enjoyed it all the same, and found an overwhelming sense of nostalgia overcame me. Instead of writing a review of Esio Trot, I’m going to work on a blog post about books from my childhood, so look out for that in the next few weeks!

I am still reading Dictator by Robert Harris, as I promised I would read it alongside my close friend, and he has less time than I do at the moment to read, meaning I am only 15% of the way through it (if it was up to me, I would already be finished it and suffering from a chronic book hangover). I am also currently reading Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, and am about 10% of the way through it. It is relatively short however, so I feel that I could probably finish this on my train journey today. It is looking good so far, and it has been a while since I read a classic.

This week while I am in Edinburgh, I am hoping to investigate some of the wonderful independent bookshops in the city, and so no doubt there will be a haul of some description when I get back!

I hope you all have a great week. Stay tuned for a book tag coming later this week, and a book review this coming Sunday.

Until next time, pip pip!

Leave a Reply

