Book babbles.

Hello all! How are you all doing? I hope everyone is having a good week so far, we’re halfway through!

I thought every once in a while when there’s bookish things happening that I’d catch you up on what I’ve been reading, what I’ve been buying etc. Here we go!

What I’ve been reading…

So this week I finished two books; Fifteen Dogs by André Alexis and Lustrum by Robert Harris. I have written a book review for Fifteen Dogs which will be up this Sunday, and I did enjoy the book quite a bit. However, pretty much everything I’ve read this year is dwarfed by Robert Harris’ Cicero trilogy. 

I have a book review up on the blog of the first book in the series, Imperium, however I will most likely not review the sequels as I don’t want to spoil them for anyone.  I finished Lustrum yesterday and was slightly broken. I am hooked. I am besotted. It is almost worrying. 

A close friend of mine was the one who introduced me to the series, and we have decided to read the last book, Dictator, together. As much fun as having a reading buddy will be it is so tempting not to wait and to just read ahead! With that being said, I’ve managed to abstain, having reading only the first 10% of the book. Rest assured, it is just as good as the last two so far. 

So that I have something to read in between my buddy read, I have picked a book featured in my Summer TBR post: The Hobbit. I am excited to carry on with this read, as I’m only 30 pages in so far, but haven’t read fantasy or an adventure like this in a while, as I tend to prefer calmer books. I’m hoping to finish this next week, so it will probably be next Sunday’s review. 

What I’ve been buying…

Today I met a friend in the city centre to go for lunch, and as we have little self control and are always talking about books we decided to go to Waterstones. I came out with three new additions to my library. 

  1. The Crash by Michel Bussi

This is a thriller/mystery I believe, surrounding a survivor from a plane crash. Normally I would not read books such as this, however my friend recommended it to me saying she was unable to put it down. I am going to test myself and try to read this, however fiction with plots like these often make me quite anxious. We shall have to wait and see!
2. Go Tell It on the Mountain by James Baldwin
This is -as far as understand it- a fictionalised, semi autobiographical story about a teenage boy and his identity. I’ve heard great things about James Baldwin before, and also know that he was very close and very relied upon by Maya Angelou, therefore I’m quite excited!

3. Will you please be quiet, please? by Raymond Carver

This is a highly acclaimed short story collection, and as I barely read those I am extremely excited for this one. Also, I was amused by the title and thought it funny. Haha.

I hope you guys enjoyed this little book haul/snippet of what I’m reading. What are you guys reading? I’d love to know. 

7 thoughts on “Book babbles.

Leave a Reply

