Liebster Award

 

liebsteraward

Hello all!

This is not so much a book related post, but more of a fun way of recognising  bloggers. My best friend Holly, from dasilvax.com nominated me for this tag; the Liebster Award! Holly has a great blog, and does regular beauty and lifestyle posts. She is also pretty much the person who inspired me to start blogging again, and thanks to her motivation I’m having a really great time!

Basically, the aim of the Liebster Award is to give you guys an insight into my life and I’ll be answering 10 questions which Holly has given me. Once I’m done, I’ll be nominating 5 other bloggers and giving them 10 questions to answer, and so on and so forth!

Let’s get cracking! Please note, this is a long post… I’d suggest getting a cuppa first.

How would you describe yourself in three words?

1) Bookworm (duh)

– I mean, why else would I be here?

2) Creative

-I love to create things, whether it be creating content on this blog for people to enjoy and engage in, or in terms of my artwork. I’ve been creating art since I can remember, and I am constantly trying to better myself and improve my work. As well as my artwork, I love writing and crafty projects.

3) Passionate

-This might sound a silly one, but there are so many things in my life that I feel passionate about; art, books, doing things to make myself happy, university, academia…the list goes on. Anything that I truly care about I tackle with all the passion that I can muster, and this drives me to do better and be better.

What is your all-time favourite movie?

This is an impossible question! I have favourite movies from different genres, and these are subject to change all of the time! I might do a more in-depth post in future on my favourite movies, but for now I’ll give a list of a few that I really love:

-Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

-ANYTHING DISNEY (but more specifically, Pocahontas or Winnie the Pooh)

-HARRY POTTER, HARRY POTTER and….HARRY POTTER (the 3rd movie is my favourite)

-Jurassic Park

Are you more of a night owl or a morning person?

Holly will know the answer to this already, but I am most definitely a night owl! I am not very good at falling asleep, and so it is not uncommon for me to be awake in the early hours of the morning. I spend that time reading, listening to podcasts, looking things up on my phone, or sometimes just thinking. I am prone to distraction during the day, and tend to get most productive at night-time. I wish I was a morning person, but c’est la vie!

Who is your biggest inspiration and why?

There are too many people who inspire me day-to-day, but there are three in particular who I would be a criminal not to mention:

First is my mum. My mum and I are quite close, and although sometimes we may fight or argue, she is always there for me and always seems to know what I need. She gives me advice, and has done so much for me that I can’t quite articulate how grateful I am for that. My mum is also just one of the kindest and most generous people I know. She cares so much for people and always tries to do right by others and will bend over backwards for her family and for anyone.

Secondly, is my friend Lexy. Lexy was actually one of my teachers throughout my time at secondary school (she taught me Religious, Moral and Philosophical studies and Philosophy), but she has become one of my dearest friends and since I’ve known her she has inspired me. Lexy is a truly selfless, caring, genuine, open-minded and non-judgemental person. To me, she is an example of how I’d like to be. She cares deeply about all numbers of things, and has her own, educated views, but never comes across as patronising. She treats everyone with respect and always does whatever she can for other people. I know for a fact the impact that she has had on not just me, but lots of other people. I am privileged to have her as a friend, and am inspired by her every day to learn more and THINK. She always encourages people to do what is right for themselves and encourages people to have their say.

Thirdly, is Maya Angelou. I would never normally include a celebrity or famous person in this list, but Maya Angelou is an extremely important figure to me. I knew of her, but not properly until the beginning of last year. I picked up I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings and became transfixed with her and her life. I am in the process of writing an author spotlight post about her, but it is not only her writing that has inspired me. She had such a thirst for life, and although she faced many a trial and tribulation, instead of letting these experiences break her, she let them add to her strength and to the strength of others. She made no secret of the decisions she made in life; the good or the not so good. She gave and continues to give people hope and advice, through her work and her interviews and such. I’ve read all of her autobiographies, most of her essays, and her poetry, and through these I have learnt so much, in particular about respecting myself and about rising and making it through hard times.

If you could be any animal what would you be?

I’d probably be a cat, because I’d be able to lounge around and be waited upon. Either that, or I’d be some sort of primate.

If you could trade lives with one person for an entire day who would it be and why?

Oh… a good question. I didn’t anticipate how difficult this would be to answer.

*insert 20-minute discussion on the topic with my mum*

I came to somewhat of a conclusion. There are a handful of celebrities I could say I’d swap with, or people already dead, or people with cool jobs, lots of money etc. However, I think that would in a way depress me, as with the celebrities I may find out things of their lives that taint my perspective of them, or living such a privileged life would make me not want to go back to my own life. So, I think I would actually swap with someone underprivileged, to see what life is like in that regard. Not only would this make me more grateful, but I suppose it would also give me an in-depth view of the help that people like the homeless need. That answer may sound cliché, but that is my stance.

What accomplishments are you most proud of?

-Getting into university

-Creating and maintaining a secure and happy and positive circle of friends and loved ones

-Speaking in front of over 100 people at the end of my 6th year of secondary school (for someone as socially inept and as scared of public speaking as me, this was a special milestone and a nice way to end my 6 years of secondary school)

What are your 3 top fears?

-Failing

-Not seeing enough of the world

-Moths (ew)

If you won the lottery, what would you do?

I could say the obvious; buy myself a house as well as homes for my loved ones, or donating to charity…but I’d ALSO want to travel the world, create a library similar to that in Beauty and the Beast, and have an art room in my home.

What do you love most about blogging?

It gives me something to do in my free time, and a way to get my thoughts out. I love books so much, and they have and will continue to change my life, so it is lovely being able to share that passion with other, really awesome people!

_________________________________________________________________

WOW, that was a ride! I hope you have made it to this point, apologies for the length.  Now I have to come up with 10 questions myself, and I will nominate 5 bloggers below to answer them!

  1. If you could interview anyone, dead or alive…who would it be?
  2. What is your favourite book?
  3. What is your favourite way to spend a day?
  4. Where is your favourite place to read?
  5. Tea or coffee? Or neither?
  6. What is your biggest pet peeve?
  7. Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?
  8. What qualities mean the most to you in a person?
  9. What is your secret talent?
  10. If you could drop everything right now, and go anywhere, where would it be?

 

I NOMINATE:

lifeisabookblog -this lovely lassie followed me on Sunday, and upon having a nosey of her blog I would love to know her answers to these questions. I loved her post titled Finding the Time in particular!

jadecranwell -I followed Jade not long after I started blogging again, and I love her blog! She does a good mixture of reviews, tags and other posts (sometimes on Yankee Candles…yay!).

baffybasics- this is a wonderful poetry blog I have recently discovered! Great poetry and great content!

Katedoublebooked- in-depth and insightful book reviews. What more could you ask for?

areadingwonderland -TBRs, book tags and most importantly…Harry Potter references! Give this girl a read!

 

I hope you guys enjoyed this post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

