Summer TBR: Reading ALL the books.

Good morning ladies and gents!

So, as of this past week, providing I haven’t failed any of my exams and don’t have to resit, I AM FREE FOR SUMMER. HURRAH. HURRAY. WOOHOO. YUSS. And with summer comes a few things; long lies, late nights, sunny days, sunburn and lots of reading time. I have compiled a list of books that I want to read over the summer. This is quite an extensive list, and I’ve no idea whether I’ll conquer all of these or not (some are admittedly quite chunky). But, I do have about 4 months to get them read! With that being said, there are a few I’ve prioritised over the others. Now, let’s crack on, shall we?

Here is the almighty pile…….

This pile is missing two books, which I own as ebooks opposed to in physical form. Thus the TBR is as follows:

  • Lustrum and Dictator by Robert Harris

-These are the second and third books in Robert Harris’ series following the Roman politician, Cicero. I finished Imperium on Saturday (a review will be up this coming Sunday) and I loved it! I’ve already started Lustrum, and am about 20 pages in. I can’t wait to sink my teeth into these two books. To make things better, a close friend of mine is reading Lustrum at the same time, so we are going to be in constant discussion I think.

  • SPQR by Mary Beard

-I bought this book  when I started Imperium, and quickly realised my knowledge of Ancient Rome was little compared to my interest in it. This is meant to be an accessible and easy to read history of Ancient Rome, and I can’t wait to get into it. As it is non-fiction, and quite a chunky book I think I may read this bit by bit in conjunction with other books over the summer.

  • Political Philosophy: A Very Short Introduction by David Miller

-This is another non-fiction read, which I was gifted by a close friend. It is as I understand it, a brief introduction to political philosophy and its importance in society, discussing democracy, dictatorships and other aspects which may influence politics such as feminism and multiculturalism. It is quite short, but I imagine it will also be quite a dense read.

  • The Guest Cat by Takashi Hiraide

-This is a really short book (which I think might boost my 52 book long Goodreads goal for 2016). It follows a crumbling marriage of a couple, and how a cat which turns up daily at their doorstep brings happiness into their life. It sounds sweet and has been described as profound…plus, who doesn’t love cats?!

  • Fifteen Dogs by André Alexis

-You may have seen this in my themed book haul I posted a couple of weeks ago. This book sounds absolutely fantastic. It sounds hilarious, and like it will have quite a bit of food for thought. It follows two Greek Gods (Hermes and Apollo) and the 15 dogs they choose to give human intelligence capability to. Again, this is a short read, and one I feel I could get through pretty fast. And…who doesn’t love dogs too?!

  • The Humans by Matt Haig

-I read Reasons to Stay Alive by Haig earlier this year, and it along with Imperium hold a special place as top books of the year so far. I found his writing to be beautiful and emotive, and so I am all too eager to read his fictional stuff. This book touches on mental health, and the impact that a dog has on the main character’s life. Dogs again, hehe, I love them.

  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling

-So, I am a hardcore Potter fan. I have been since I first picked up The Philosopher’s Stone, and will be until I die. I have reread the series numerous times, but it has been a couple of years since I last did that. I’ve found that small details have slipped my attention. And so, I reread the first 3 this year, and got 75 pages into the 4th just before exams. I am hoping I can get back to this soon. I also have the audiobook, which is narrated by Stephen Fry…so if I find myself pushed for time to sit down and read it, I will listen instead!

  • The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R Tolkien

-I am lumping these together as I am not sure how many I will get to this summer. However, I want to at the least, finish The Hobbit. I have heard too many good things about the books to leave the series untouched. I know so many people who love them and I want in on it!

  • East of Eden by John  Steinbeck

-BACK STORY. I love John Steinbeck. I have only read Of Mice and Men and The Pearl by him, however I love his writing and the feeling his books give me reserve him a space as one of my favourite authors of all time. I started reading East of Eden and got 200 (ish) pages in, but I stupidly began it during a busy spell at university, and could not dedicate the time to it (it is a VERY large book). Therefore, I am planning on starting it from the beginning and finishing it if it is the LAST THING I DO.

THERE WE HAVE IT! My stupidly long TBR for summer. I will keep you posted on my progress. Have you guys got a summer to read list? What is on yours? Have you read any of these books? I’d love to know!

🙂

Leave a Reply

