Fit Like, Yer Majesty?

Hello everyone!

Once again I want to say thank you for the follows. They mean a lot to me.

This is a more random post today, but it is still book related.

I am from the North East of Scotland, specifically Aberdeen. I’ve lived here my entire life and have grown up speaking two dialects, so to speak. The first of these being English, the second being the regional dialect for Aberdeen and the North East; Doric!

Now Doric is an interpretation of the English language, and is a dialect which originates from the North East of Scotland. Even then certain words can mean different things depending on where in the North East you are. It is a dialect which sadly isn’t as big now, and is more common among the older generations. However I am of the view that it is important to keep this valuable aspect of my culture and tradition alive and that’s why I was so fair trickit (really pleased) when this fell into my lap.
Fit Like, Yer Majesty? A Book of Doric Poems compiled by The Reading Bus


This is a compilation of poetry written by local poets to my region, and I am immensely proud and happy to own this.

I have had a read through of some of the poems and they are not only hilarious but just so very reflective of the area and they give me a great sense of being at home. I can imagine sitting at my Granda’s feet and listening to him reciting one of these poems to me. 

As well as being written in the traditional Doric style, they also make references and relate to life in this area of Scotland. It is safe to say I love these! 

I thought it might be fun to take one of these poems and almost translate it for you guys (as best as I can, as unfortunately I am no expert in Doric). Then you can really see just how cooky and unique this part of my heritage is!!

The Aul Wifie Fa Bade in A Beet

There wis an aul wifie

There was an old woman

Fa bade in a beet

Who lived in a boot

Her smarrich o bairns

Her  group of children

Made the peer craitur greet.

Made the poor creature cry.

They widna tak milk

They wouldn’t take milk

They widna tak breid

They wouldn’t take bread

Sae she goes them a skelp

So she gave them a smack

On their luggies instied

On their ears instead

Charles Birnie

As you can probably see from that, this language lends itself better to the spoken word  opposed to text, but for those who are familiar with the language, these poems are absolutely hilarious and are so worth the read!

Hope you guys are having a good week! 

4 thoughts on “Fit Like, Yer Majesty?

  1. This is so cool!! Does the book have footnotes or endnotes for translation help? (I’m an American)

    Either way, this book is totally going on my Wish List! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No I’m afraid it doesn’t! But most of the words you can find in a Doric dictionary 🙂 I am thinking on maybe translating the odd poem every once in a while. Do you think that’d be something you’d be interested in? 🙂

      I’m so glad to hear that 🙂

      Like

      1. I would definitely like to see more poems when you have the time :). I know it’s totally different dialect and language, but it reminds me of when I took a Chaucer class. His works were better suited to be read aloud too.

        Like

Leave a Reply

