A themed book haul.

Hello hello hello!

I’m hoping that those of you who have followed this blog (hi, hello, how are you? thank you for the support) are enjoying the content thus far. I’m having a whale of a time!

ANYWAY. I had a really rough day yesterday, and I took to cheering myself up in the only way I am certain works. That’s right, you guessed it, I went book shopping.

I went into Waterstones (my happy place) and picked up 3 books, 2 of which are for myself and the other being for my mum. 

Upon getting home I realised that the books I picked up have a common theme running throughout, and that theme happens to be dogs!

Fifteen Dogs by André Alexis.


A pack of dogs are granted the power of human thought- but what will it do to them?

It begins in a bar, like so many strange stories. The gods Hermes and Apollo argue about what would happen if animals had human intelligence, so they make a bet and grant consciousness to a group of dogs staying overnight at a veterinary clinic.

Suddenly capable of complex thought, the dogs escape and become a pack. They are torn between those who resist the new ways of thinking, preferring the old ‘dog’ ways, and those who embrace the change. The gods watch as the dogs venture into unfamiliar territory, as they become divided among themselves, as each struggles with new thoughts and feelings. Wily Benjy moves from home to home, Prince becomes a poet, and Majnoun forges a relationship with a kind couple that stops even the Fates in their tracks.

Engaging and full of unexpected insights into human and canine minds, this contemporary fable is an extraordinary look at the beauty and perils of consciousness. 

Are you intrigued?! I am! This book was laid out on one of the feature tables in Waterstones, and I couldn’t resist it. It comes in at 159 pages and seems like a quick and rather humorous  read.
The Humans by Matt Haig.


There’s no place like home. Or is there?

After an ‘incident’ one wet Friday night where he is found walking naked through the streets of Cambridge, Professor Andrew Martin is not feeling quite himself. Food sickens him. Clothes confuse him. Even his loving wife and teenage  main are repulsive to him. He feels lost amongst a crazy alien species and hates everyone on the planet. Everyone, that is, except Newton, and he’s a dog.

Who is he really? And what could make someone change their mind about the human race…?

I picked this up for two main reasons: 1) Matt Haig 2) Dogs. I read Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig this year and it has been my favourite book so far of 2016. His writing encapsulates everything I love about books, and so I am intrigued to see what his works of fiction are like.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time is a murder mystery novel like no other. The detective, and narrator, is Christopher Boone. Christopher is fifteen and has Asperger’s Sybdrome. He knows a very great deal about maths and very little about human beings. He loves lists, patterns and the truth. He hates the colours yellow and brown and being touched. He has never gone further than the end of the road on his own, but when he finds a neighbour’s dog murdered he sets out on a terrifying journey which will turn his whole world upside down. 

I have already read this book on my kindle and I really enjoyed it, in particular the narration and how much of a challenge it must be to write from the perspective of somebody who has a learning difficulty. I bought this for my mum as we were discussing learning difficulties and in specific Asperger’s and autism, as her job has a cross over with this area. I thought she’d appreciate the insight into Asperger’s syndrome. I hope she enjoys it as I did!

And thats it I’m afraid. I could have bought plenty more books, but unfortunately my bank account is not bottomless. 

I hope you guys enjoyed this post!!!

5 thoughts on “A themed book haul.

Leave a Reply

